IMSA 1990

Class of 1990 at the Illinois Math & Science Academy (IMSA)

[Allalum-l] Scott Swanson ’90 memorial fund

January 20th, 2010 · No Comments · Uncategorized

From [Allalum-l] –

Dear IMSA community,

In recognition of the life and work of Scott Swanson, beloved son and friend, IMSA alumnus (Class of 1990), IMSA staff member, and recognized educational technology pioneer, the Scott Swanson Fund for Transformative Student Learning and Innovation has been established by Gail and Sherwyn Cotovsky (Scott’s mother and stepfather), and IMSA alumni Alyssa Bennett ’90, Michele Jonsson Funk ’90, David Gabrius ’90, Todd (Groner) Kopriva ’89, Tony Nuval ’98, Sandeep Paruchuri ’08, Michael Peil ’90, Sendhil Revuluri ’90, Mike and Jennifer Rudzinski, both ’90, Joe Shidle ’90, and Derek Wolfgram ’89.

This fund will support the purchase, creation and use of leading-edge and emerging technologies for transformative student learning and innovation at IMSA. Gifts will support student-driven projects in game-changing technology initiatives (such as the One Laptop Per Child initiative), advanced computing, new media, online virtual worlds, gaming, and CoolHub.IMSA collaborative innovation networks. All of these were near and dear to Scott’s heart, and all offer opportunities for students to connect/collaborate with and be mentored by IMSA alumni, faculty and staff. This was very important to Scott.

For more details or to make a contribution to this fund in honor of Scott, please visit the IMSA Fund website at You can also set up a recurring payment to make monthly contributions to the fund at Please call us at (630) 907-5040 for more information.

To review Scott’s tribute statement, visit

Jennifer Spuehler

Jennifer Spuehler
Director of Development
Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy
IMSA Fund for Advancement of Education
1500 W. Sullivan Rd.
Aurora, IL 60506
Ph. 630-907-598


No Comments so far ↓

There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment